Mount Homework Forever Shall Be

In spring of 2016 I transferred to Mount Holyoke College as a first semester Junior. I knew the workload would be heavier than what I had experienced during the first two years of my undergraduate studies, but I couldn’t resist the call of the castle-like library, the school’s nearly two hundred year history, or the astounding assortment of classes offered across the Five College Consortium.

0209160823-e1527435053895.jpg

The Mount Holyoke College Library, January 2016

After four semesters and two museum internships I have constructed a model Neolithic Irish hut, started learning two new languages (and one new alphabet), co-authored a NAGPRA repatriation proposal, co-curated an exhibit and helped install two others, been in the same room as a lock of Emily Dickinson’s hair (twice), dug my first test pit at an archaeological site, formed friendships with wonderful people from around the world, and gained numerous grey hairs.

14567420_1421849777842423_4534116189841212615_o

Neolithic Irish Hut, mid-thatching, constructed by my friend and myself with help from classmates as a final project for our course on Ancient Ireland.

While attending Mount Holyoke, my costuming projects have been few and far between. I finally finished the dress for the Susan B. Anthony Birthplace Museum in fall of 2016, after a few roadblocks and delays.

 

The past three summers have seen me rushing through cosplay construction in preparation for Connecticon, a fan-run convention held in Hartford.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And finally, despite my heavy homework load, I did manage to throw together Halloween costumes at the last minute. In 2016 my friends helped me to create a steampunk character who worked as a librarian by day and an interfaith exorcist by night. Last year I attended the Mount Holyoke “Get Your Geek On” Halloween dance dressed as Sophie from Howl’s Moving Castle, complete with a Calcifer prop.

1024172240

Iced tea bottle, Sharpies, and a little acrylic paint

Now that I have graduated with my B.A. I have decided to take on more ambitious projects. First on the list is a mid-19th century corset, followed by all accompanying undergarments. I have black and green silk begging to become a Civil War Era dress, but before I can begin I need to make period underpinnings to create the proper silhouette.

0302182137

Progress on the corset so far – still trying to adjust the pattern matching.

Leave a comment

anna in technicolor

Creating a beautiful life, one stitch at a time

JACSnews

Just me writing about fun stuff!

Pelty's Providence

My (mis)adventures in Providence

~LaughingNymph~

Just another WordPress.com site

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.